top of page
  • Writer's pictureVarun Jyothykumar

How to Live Car-Free

With a looming climate emergency, astronomic fuel costs and a cost of living crisis like none before, now might be a very good time to consider getting a bicycle. Using a bicycle as a primary mode of transport, however, can be a daunting prospect - many adults have never ridden a bicycle non-recreationally, and even fewer continue riding beyond their teenage years.


In opinion, abandoning cycles and purchasing a car as one gets older is often an outcome of what theorists call the ‘arrival fallacy’ - the false assumption that success is measured in acquisitions and increases in personal wealth. The car is seen as the more expensive status symbol, the more comfortable, the more convenient, the faster. After having owned a car for a few years, however, I was keen to challenge this mentality. It was perfectly possible to get by without one, save money and live a simpler, more streamlined life.


Now, I had the privilege of being a young, single, childless man (not a brag) when I sold my car and made the decision to live car-free. As such, the drawbacks of a car-free lifestyle didn’t affect me as drastically; however, after a few years of navigating it, I have experienced some notable conundrums that I thought worth sharing. I hope this knowledge will make the decision easier for someone with less privilege than I.


1. The ‘Chuck Everything in The Boot’ Problem


I now make far smaller but far more frequent journeys for errands, shopping trips and load-carrying activities. There were times when I ‘underbiked’ - i.e., carried an obscenely large or impractical load, mimicking, as it were, a typical load I might have carried in a car. But this was unsafe and unsustainable for more than a very short distance. So - I now make smaller and more frequent journeys carrying reasonable loads on my bike.


There are obvious solutions to this problem: owning a cargo bike, for one, or a cargo trailer (such as these ones by Burley), or even riding a tandem with a trailer connected by a ladder (just like Alfie here - don’t try this at home!). I would argue that the above three would come as close to replicating a carload as possible, but I would argue that they are just not universally accessible or practical. I’ve based my judgements on a load carried on a pannier rack and basket on a ‘regular’ bike that could be stored indoors in a small home, is affordable to most and looks ordinary enough as to not attract stares.


In some ways, I’ve found this problem liberating. It’s not big chore to go to the shop once more a week, I don’t feel as tempted to buy loads of things and I’m not lumbered by a car to carry big loads in ‘just in case.’


Sometimes, just because you Can carry it doesn't mean you Should

2. You don’t pay for fuel and bills, except you do - ish.


When I sold my car my main rationale was not being afford fuel and car insurance. Without a doubt, those costs are far behind me. Over the past 2 years, I’ve watched as friends bleed over £60 a week on fuel costs and are faced with massive insurance renewal charges, both of which have only risen recently. I chose cycling with the intention of cutting costs and that’s certainly worked.


The fallacy is that, while riding bikes is cheaper, many see bikes as a one-time purchase that don’t require additional care. Owning two bikes and riding in excess of 12,000km a year, I still do spend around £300+ annually on both bikes, either in replaceable parts such as chains, tires and gear cables, or in general care and maintenance. Additionally, while you can save on expensive garage bills, be prepared to put in half an hour every week or so to clean and service the bikes. It’s an ‘inconvenience’ that needs to be factored into routine rather than dismissed or, worse, seen as an excuse not to ride and take care of your bikes.


You don’t pay for fuel - ish. This is because, almost without a doubt, you will need to pay more for food. Don’t dismiss it, either - I lost a significant amount of weight and grew Very tired at first when I didn’t respond to my increased appetite. Take care of yourself and be prepared for your body to need a bit more care than before.


So, nutshell - you WILL save thousands on owning and running a car, but don’t see cycling as a fit and forget deal, especially if you’re in it for the long term.


3. ‘Uncomfortable’ is all relative.


If I had a pound for every time someone said, “Oh, I’d get too sweaty/wet/dirty/hot/cold if I cycled there,” I’d have….well, probably £20. This does seem to be a main deterrent for those taking up cycling to work, though. We’ve grown accustomed to the perceived comfort of walking out an insulated house to an insulated car, keeping our perfect shirt and shoes insulated so we can carry on working in your insulated office. On the contrary, when you ride bikes, that the outdoors is going to affect you unfiltered should be a given.

Spend enough time outdoors in Britain, chances are you'll get rained on.

When I started commuting to my teacher training placement one dull October, I distinctly remember being caught in torrential rain, chilling winds and increasing darkness and feeling awful. While it didn’t get more pleasant, I swiftly accepted these slight discomforts as the norm. Sure, you can purchase expensive clothing and kit to keep you as separate from the elements as possible, but I would argue that is erroneous. Embrace a certain level of discomfort and make sure you have a clean, warm and dry set of clothes waiting for you at the other end.


Eventually, you’ll find that:


4. Travelling stops being such a chore.


Picture this: It’s been half a year and you’ve ridden through both extreme warmth and cold, rain and shine. You’re now used to riding regularly to places with confidence. You stop at a set of traffic lights, zipping confidently past a queue of irritated car drivers. You smile at the person crossing the road, take a deep breath in…and wonder out loud, “Why did I ever choose to drive a car before?”


This is, admittedly, utopian; but it’s how I frequently feel about going car-free. I used to regularly drive 30 miles twice a day down motorways, getting caught in heavy traffic almost everyday. It was a miserable existence. It now takes me half the time to ride half the distance and honestly? I couldn’t have been happier. I don’t know what it is - the additional exposure to the outdoors, the exercise, the perceived freedom, the ability to avoid ‘fast’ but inherently busier roads. Whichever, I subjectively find my commute so much more enjoyable now and can confirm that at least most of the people I’ve spoken to do, too.

You don't see this on you car commutes, possibly because you're too tired, stressed and irritated to even notice.

Really? The only thing spoiling your enjoyment is car drivers. Maybe they’re just jealous.


5. …so, look out for car drivers. You’ll get used to it.


In two years of riding bikes everywhere, I have crashed a few times. I will say this once: crashing is NOT a normal part of cycling and it is NOT a more dangerous activity (if anything, driving a car is statistically more dangerous). Having said that, only two of my crashes have been user error. All the others were the result of someone else driving their car.


I found that, after my crashes, I grew increasingly anxious and nervous, and so will you, at least at the start of your car-free life. Once you get past that initial anxiety, you will start getting used to making adaptations to accommodate poor driving. You might start wandering away from the kerb to occupy a confident primary position in the centre of your lane. You would start making frequent shoulder-checks and signalling confidently. You might also plan routes away from main arterial roads, down back lanes and will know the usable cycling infrastructure in your local area like the back of your hand.


Ultimately, remember how much more enjoyable and positive your form of transport is, and don’t let the bastards get you down. But do own your space and hold them to account for poor driving.


There are many people who would preach the benefits of cycling to you. There are, probably, as many people who would warn of its ‘dangers.’


Ignore them.


You know the benefits of cycling; they have been proven time and time again. You know that there are some drawbacks, and will be able to make an informed decision on how to deal with them. I’m not here to tell you you should go car-free, but that if you do:

  • WELL DONE; and

  • Start your journey with an open mind and willingness to adapt. You’ll find that it makes a big difference.

11 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page