top of page
  • Writer's pictureVarun Jyothykumar

Is Shimano Tiagra the new 105?

With the recent introduction of Shimano’s 105 Di2 groupset has come a lot of furious debate; typically, that this is a move by Shimano to ‘force’ previous buyers of the 105-level groupset to spend hundreds of pounds, dollars or euros more on the groupset of their choice.


How to start a furious debate at the cafe stop: show up with Shimano 105 Di2. (Image credit: Fairlight Cycles/Honor Elliott)

Now, I think this argument is misplaced and contentious; but I do also agree that the people who might’ve bought the Shimano 105 mechanical groupset have been shunned by 105 Di2. But no, 105 mechanical already has a successor, another cheap but equally capable groupset - Tiagra.


Let us consider the facts. Shimano Tiagra R7000 may be ‘only’ a 10-speed groupset and, with its highest gear offering still only a 50-34 compact with a 11-28 cassette (compared 105’s 52-36 semi-compact offering), firmly resides in the ‘keen amateur’ territory of bicycle riding. But it does have a rim brake and disc brake option. Objectively, both rim and disc brake components look to be identical to similar 105 components. Subjectively, they ‘feel’ similar enough to be indiscernible. The only thing that separates them, really, is that strangely cheap-looking grey finish on the Tiagra components.




Yes, the keen entry-level racers amongst the current 105 users will say, but there’s also the weight. And it’s true - Tiagra parts do weigh more than their equivalent in the 105 range. But I remain unconvinced that this makes any measurable difference. In the world of pro cycling, I think there’s a case to be made for choosing marginally better or lighter or faster parts, because everyone is performing on such an equally high level (more or less) that the difference in components alone can separate first from second place. But I think the racers likely to choose a 105/Tiagra price-level groupset are separated more by their physical prowess than a few tens of grams in component weight.


I’ve used Tiagra R7000 on two separate bikes now. My old Giant Contend SL2 was what one might call an ‘endurance road’ bike, though it weighed a significant amount more than my last road bike that tipped the scales at 8.5kg. This was a bike content to be ridden slowly and to spin, rather than sprint, up hills. It had a 50-34 Tiagra chainset specced, mated to a 11-34 cassette - the lowest gearing currently available in the Tiagra range. This suited the character of the bike perfectly. I remember finding the hydraulic brakes to be a revelation and finger-light to use.



Tiagra R7000 in 'road' spec - 50-34 cassette mated to a 11-34 rear cassette.

I built my Stayer Groadinger UG up myself so, when I chose to fit Tiagra components to it, I knew I wanted to play with that standard configuration. The shifters, front derailleur and brakes stayed, but the rear derailleur was replaced by a Shimano GRX400 - which worked perfectly. This enabled me to fit a larger 11-36 cassette and take advantage of GRX’s ‘clutch’ system to reduce chain slap. Instead of the Tiagra 50-34 chainset, I fitted a Rotor chainset; partially for aesthetics and partially so I could use 48-32 chainrings, giving me a nearly identical top gear but a much, much lower bottom for those tiring, long, hilly days in the saddle.



Tiagra R7000 in 'all-terrain' spec - standard levers and brakes mated to a GRX400 rear derailleur, 48-32 chainrings and 11-36 cassette.

I can see why people might shun Tiagra; there’s a perception of cheapness, of having to settle for second-best not helped by the apparent divide between its 10 speeds and 105, Ultegra and Dura-Ace with their 12s (though I suspect Tiagra's going 11-speed soon, folks). But the haters couldn’t be more wrong! I say stop mourning the loss of your 105 mechanical, put your brand-name hubris aside and purchase the new groupset of the people - Shimano Tiagra.


4 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page